Nominations for   
the Jesse Beams Award for Outstanding Research
the George B. Pegram Award for Excellence in Teaching

Nominations for each award should be sent to the appropriate award committee chair by August 15. Four copies of each nomination, consisting of a nominating letter and up to three supporting letters (a maximum of two pages each), should be sent. No other supporting documents are needed.  The nominator is also asked to send an email to the Chair ( and Vice Chair ( of the Section informing them of the submission.  Nominations are requested at the earliest possible time.

BEAMS AWARDThe materials for the Beams award should be sent to:

Professor Keith MacAdam
Department of Physics & Astronomy
177 Chem.-Phys. Building
University of Kentucky
600 Rose Street
Lexington, KY 40506-0055
Office Phone: (859) 257-3344

Members of the Beams Award Committee are:

Chair:  Keith MacAdam, University of Kentucky
Previous Year's Award Winner: Akuruni V. Ramayya, Vanderbilt University
3rd Member: Alan T. Dorsey, University of Florida
The Vice Chair of SESAPS is an ex officio member of the committee.

PEGRAM AWARD: The materials for the Pegram award should be sent to:

Professor Paul Cottle
Department of Physics
315 Keen Building
Florida State University
Tallahassee, FL 32306-4350
Office Phone: (850) 644-5777

Members of the Pegram Award Committee are:

Chair:  Paul Cottle, Florida State University
Previous Award Winner: Robert Beichner, North Carolina State University
3rd Member: Chaden Djalali, University of South Carolina
The Vice Chair of SESAPS is an ex officio member of the committee.